MoDOT IC-IR Projects

The Missouri Department of Transportation (MoDOT) executed a year-long project throughout 2017 to demonstrate the use of intelligent compaction (IC), infrared scanning (IR), and Veta software to improve pavement construction operations.

Forms and Documents

Download the PDF

The Transtec Group Provides Complete Consulting Services to Year-Long MoDOT IC, IR ProjectThe Transtec Group Provides Complete Consulting Services to Year-Long MoDOT IC, IR Project

MoDOT’s intelligent compaction and infrared scanning project ran from January to December 2017 and consisted of 13 field projects. Due to the success of the projects, MoDOT has committed to fully implementing IC by 2021. A key to the project’s success was the complete support and training provided by The Transtec Group.

Field Projects:

RT 49 McDonald Co.

Project Information

Job No J7I3072
District SW
County McDonald
Route 49
Description Pavement improvements from Rte. 59 near Goodman to near Bus. 71 south of Rte. 76.
Work Type K- MED TYPE RESURFACING
Length 7.161

Contacts

  • Resident Engineer: Gregory Chapman, (417) 621-6504, <Gregory.Chapman@modot.mo.gov>
  • Contractor (Blevins ): <rbekemeier@blevinsasphalt.com>, <wsisco@blevinsasphalt.com>, <scrabtree@blevinsasphalt.com>; <kdurbin@blevinsasphalt.com>
  • Research Team (Transtec Group): George Chang,  (512) 659-1231, <GKChang@TheTranstecGroup.com>; Kiran Mohanraj , (480) 241-3191, <kiran@thetranstecgroup.com>; Lee Gallivan (onsite), (317) 605-4704, <Lee@GallivanConsultingInc.com>
  • IR Vendor (MOBA): Paul Angerhofer, (770) 634-0058,  <pangerhofer@moba.de>
  • IC Vendor (SITECh Central): Mike Brown, (417) 466-3758, <mpbrown@sitech-central.com>, Zach morehead,(816) 206-4323, <zjmorehead@sitech-central.com>

RT 61 Jefferson Co.

Project Information

Job No J6S3123
District SL
County J6S3123
Route 61
Description Pavement and ADA Transition Plan improvements from Rte. M to south of Church Road.
Work Type K- MED TYPE RESURFACING
Length 6.647

Contacts

  • Resident Engineer: Christine M. Redhage, (314) 452-5018, <Christine.Redhage@modot.mo.gov>; Virgil Reed, <Virgil.Reed@modot.mo.gov>;  Mark Stuart, <mstuart@magrudercompanies.com>
  • Contractor (14-452-5018): Henry Burkemper, (573) 873-4126, <hburkemper@magrudercompanies.com> ; Mark Lindsay, <marklindsay@magrudercompanies.com>; Mark Shocklee, <MShocklee@magrudercompanies.com>
  • Research Team (Transtec Group): George Chang,  (512) 659-1231, <GKChang@TheTranstecGroup.com>. Kiran Mohanraj (onsite) , (480) 241-3191, <kiran@thetranstecgroup.com>
  • IR Vendor (MOBA): Paul Angerhofer, (770) 634-0058,  <pangerhofer@moba.de>
  • IC Vendor (SITECH MidWest): Devin Corley, (636) 698-4775, <devin.corley@sitechmidwest.com> John Simmons, (618) 610-3212, <john.simmons@sitechmidwest.com>
  • Brock Woods, <brock.woods@fabickcat.com>

RT 52 Morgan Co.

Project Information

Job No 5P3117
District CD
County Morgan
Route 52
Description Pavement and shoulder improvements from Rte. 5 west junction at Versailles to Aurora Street at Eldon.
Work Type K- MED TYPE RESURFACING, X- SAFETY
Length 17.93

Contacts

  • Resident Engineer: Christopher A. Graham, (573) 645-3903, <Christopher.Graham@modot.mo.gov>
  • Contractor (Capital Paving): Andrew Owenby, Capital Paving,  (573) 489-6409, <aowenby@capitalmaterialsmo.com>; Marli Hayes, (573) 554-2012,<mhayes@capitalmaterialsmo.com>
  • Research Team (Transtec Group): George Chang,  (512) 659-1231, <GKChang@TheTranstecGroup.com>. Kiran Mohanraj , (480) 241-3191, <kiran@thetranstecgroup.com>
  • IR Vendor (MOBA): Paul Angerhofer, (770) 634-0058,  <pangerhofer@moba.de>
  • IC Vendor (SITECH MidWest): Devin Corley, (636) 698-4775, <devin.corley@sitechmidwest.com> John Simmons, (618) 610-3212, <john.simmons@sitechmidwest.com>

RT 36 Macon Co. 1

Project Information

Job No 2P3099
District NE
County Macon
Route 36
Description Pavement improvements on eastbound lanes from 0.5 mile west of Rte. C to 0.1 mile east of Kellogg Avenue near Macon.
Work Type K- MED TYPE RESURFACING
Length 6.83

Contacts

  • Resident Engineer:  Jeffrey L. Gander, (660) 385-8230, <jeffrey.gander@modot.mo.gov>; Douglas Pettig, <Douglas.Pettig@modot.mo.gov>
  • Contractor (Chester Bross Construction): Mace Colgrove, (573) 221-5958, <mcolgrove68@hotmail.com>; Austin Miller, <atmiller@cbrossgroup.com>; Don Ives, (573) 248-9682, <donives5@hotmail.com>; Rich Ellison, <chevy13177@yahoo.com>
  • Research Team (Transtec Group): George Chang,  (512) 659-1231, <GKChang@TheTranstecGroup.com>. Kiran Mohanraj , (480) 241-3191, <kiran@thetranstecgroup.com>
  • IR Vendor (MOBA): Paul Angerhofer, (770) 634-0058,  <pangerhofer@moba.de>
  • IC Vendor (CMW, Volvo): Dan Doherty, CMW,  (314) 420-9808, <dand@cmw-equip.com>, Dave Underhill <daveu@cmw-equip.com>; Bill Laing, (717) 460-4073, bill.laing@volvo.com
  • GPS Surveyor: Randy Rees, (573) 822-9564, randyrees@lycos.com

RT 36 Macon Co. 2

Project Information

Job No 2P3100
District NE
County Macon
Route 36
Description Pavement improvements on westbound lanes from 0.8 mile east of Rte. 63 to 1.7 miles west of Rte. O near Bevier.
Work Type K- MED TYPE RESURFACING
Length 7.92

Contacts

  • Resident Engineer:  Jeffrey L. Gander, (660) 385-8230, <jeffrey.gander@modot.mo.gov>; Douglas Pettig, <Douglas.Pettig@modot.mo.gov>
  • Contractor (Chester Bross Construction): Mace Colgrove, (573) 221-5958, <mcolgrove68@hotmail.com>; Austin Miller, <atmiller@cbrossgroup.com>; Don Ives, (573) 248-9682, <donives5@hotmail.com>; Rich Ellison, <chevy13177@yahoo.com>
  • Research Team (Transtec Group): George Chang,  (512) 659-1231, <GKChang@TheTranstecGroup.com>. Kiran Mohanraj , (480) 241-3191, <kiran@thetranstecgroup.com>
  • IR Vendor (MOBA): Paul Angerhofer, (770) 634-0058,  <pangerhofer@moba.de>
  • IC Vendor (CMW, Volvo): Dan Doherty, CMW,  (314) 420-9808, <dand@cmw-equip.com>, Dave Underhill <daveu@cmw-equip.com>; Bill Laing, (717) 460-4073, bill.laing@volvo.com
  • GPS Surveyor: Randy Rees, (573) 822-9564, randyrees@lycos.com

RT 24 Randolph Co.

Project Information

Job No 2P3051
District NE
County Randolph
Route 24
Description Pavement and shoulder improvements from the Chariton County line to 1.5 miles west of Rte. C near Huntsville.
Work Type K- MED TYPE RESURFACING
Length 7.636

Contacts

  • Resident Engineer: James R. Gillespie, <James.Gillespie@modot.mo.gov>, Ryan Brobst,  <Ryan.Brobst@modot.mo.gov>; Justin Skipper <Justin.Skipper@modot.mo.gov>
  • Contractor Contacts: Andrew Owenby, Capital Paving,  (573) 489-6409, aowenby@capitalmaterialsmo.com
  • Research team: George Chang, Transtec Group, (512) 659-1231. GKChang@TheTranstecGroup.com

RT 24 Chariton Co.

Project Information

Job No 1P3005
District NW
County Chariton
Route 24
Description Pavement and shoulder improvements from Rte. 5 in Keytesville to Randolph County line.
Work Type K- MED TYPE RESURFACING
Length 13.16

Contacts

  • Resident Engineer:  James R. Gillespie, (660) 646-3218, <James.Gillespie@modot.mo.gov>
  • Contractor (Capital Paving): Casey Castrop, Phone number, <ccastrop@capitalmaterialsmo.com>. Jeff Golden, (573)-305-4620, <jgolden@capitalpavingmo.com
  • Research Team (Transtec Group): George Chang,  (512) 659-1231, <GKChang@TheTranstecGroup.com>. Kiran Mohanraj , (480) 241-3191, <kiran@thetranstecgroup.com>
  • IR Vendor (MOBA): Paul Angerhofer, (770) 634-0058,  <pangerhofer@moba.de>
  • IC Vendor (SITECH MidWest): Devin Corley, (636) 698-4775, <devin.corley@sitechmidwest.com> John Simmons, (618) 610-3212, <john.simmons@sitechmidwest.com>
  • GPS Surveyor: Matthew.Winkler, (660) 651-2448 , <Matthew.Winkler@skw-inc.com>

More Projects

MoDOT IC-IR Projects

MoDOT IC-IR Projects

The Missouri Department of Transportation (MoDOT) executed a year-long project throughout 2017 to demonstrate the use of intelligent compaction (IC), infrared scanning (IR), and Veta software to improve pavement construction operations.

FHWA IC and In-PLACE HMA Density Projects

FHWA IC and In-Place HMA Density Projects

This project, funded by US FHWA from 2012 to 2014, intended to pinpoint the relationship between in-place HMA density and IC machine operations’ settings and measurements.

TPF Intelligent Compaction Project

TPF Intelligent Compaction Project

The TPF Intelligent Compaction study (from 2008 to 2011) existed as a part of the US FHWA and Transportation Pooled Fund (TPF) Project TPF-5(128). Accelerated Implementation of Intelligent Compaction Technology for Embankment Subgrade Soils, Aggregate Base and Asphalt Pavement Material.